Chandrashekhar Azad

Chandrashekhar Azad, also known as Azad, was a prominent Indian freedom fighter and revolutionary during the struggle for India’s independence from British colonial rule. He was born on July 23, 1906, in Bhavra, a small village in present-day Madhya Pradesh, India. Azad is remembered for his courage, leadership, and dedication to the cause of Indian independence.

Azad’s involvement in the freedom movement began during his school days when he joined the non-cooperation movement led by Mahatma Gandhi in the 1920s. However, he became disillusioned with the Gandhian non-violent approach after the Chauri Chaura incident in 1922, where police were killed during a protest, and Gandhi suspended the non-cooperation movement.

Chandrashekhar Azad, along with other like-minded revolutionaries, formed the Hindustan Socialist Republican Association (HSRA) in 1928. The HSRA aimed to overthrow British rule through armed struggle and was responsible for several acts of violence against the British government and its officials.

One of the most significant incidents associated with Chandrashekhar Azad is the Kakori Train Robbery in 1925, where HSRA members looted a train carrying government funds near Kakori, Uttar Pradesh. Azad was not directly involved in this incident, but he became a prominent face of the HSRA due to his leadership and bravery.

Azad’s commitment to the cause of freedom was such that he vowed not to be captured alive by the British authorities. In a fierce encounter with the police at Alfred Park in Allahabad on February 27, 1931, Azad fought valiantly but was eventually surrounded by the British forces. Rather than surrendering, he chose to shoot himself to keep his pledge, and he died at the age of 24.

Chandrashekhar Azad’s heroism and sacrifice have made him an iconic figure in India’s struggle for independence. His legacy continues to inspire generations of Indians in their fight for justice, freedom, and equality. Several places, educational institutions, and organizations in India have been named after him to honor his memory and his contributions to the nation’s history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *